Nepal’s Road to World Cup India revealed

Road to WC Nepal

Nepal’s Road to World Cup India revealed

International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the first eight series of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup League 2 to begin in August 2019 on the Road to India 2023.

Nepal’s Tribhuvan University Cricket Ground will enter history books when it will host the United States and Oman for a tri-series on 6th February 2020, that if Nepal fails to schedule any home series before.

Both the United States and Oman attained the ODI status for the first time in their cricketing history during the World Cricket League Division 2 held last month in Namibia. Similarly, Nepal acquired same last year in ICC World Cup Qualifiers held at Zimbabwe.

TU ground needs a upgrade before hosting any international fixture. However, the team manager of national cricket team, Raman Shiwakoti, was assured of all the necessary criteria to be fulfilled by the time of the series.

Nepal along with Namibia, Oman, PNG, Scotland, UAE and the United States will be playing 36 ODIs over two and half years from August 2019 to January 2022, where teams will be two steps away from the Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 to be held in India. The League 2 will see 126 ODIs played across 21 tri-series, with the first series kicking off in Scotland on 14 August 2019.

Each series will see teams play a total of six ODIs, with teams competing for the top three spots of the League 2 table which will confirm their place in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2022.

Nepal’s Road to World Cup in India

Road to WC Nepal

Infographics: Nepal’s Road to India


Post a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.