Nepal’s Corporate Super Sixes ends with ‘Mankading’ controversy
Civil Bank bowler Nishesh KC had the responsibility to deliver the last over of the match defending 17 runs in the last 8-ball-over (6 deliveries in Group and Knock Out stage before final). He picked up two wickets in the process with equation coming down to 10 runs in two deliveries. He conceded Six in the penultimate delivery, four was required of the last ball. The bowler completed his delivery stride but before releasing the ball, he stopped, turned and ran out the non-striker batsman who had left the bowling crease by some margin. A strong appeal was made, without wasting much time or any consultation, the umpire raised the finger. ICFC lost the match by 3 runs. Civil Bank was crowned champions of Corporates in 2017.
Now the MCC rule for ‘mankading’ states: The MCC (Law 42.15) “The bowler is permitted, before entering his delivery stride, to attempt to run out the non-striker. Whether the attempt is successful or not, the ball shall not count as one of the over. If the bowler fails in an attempt to run out the non-striker, the umpire shall call and signal Dead ball as soon as possible.”
Similarly, the ICC made some adjustment to it: “The bowler is permitted, before releasing the ball and provided he has not completed his usual delivery swing, to attempt to run out the non-striker. Whether the attempt is successful or not, the ball shall not count as one of the over. if the bowler fails in an attempt to run out the non-striker, the umpire shall call and signal dead ball as soon possible.”
In both cases, it is clearly stated that “before releasing the ball and provided he has not completed his usual delivery swing or before entering the delivery stride, to attempt to run out the non-striker.”
Here, the Civil Bank bowler, Nishesh KC completed his usual delivery swing. Also, neither he attempted to dismiss the non-striker before entering his delivery stride. The bowler completed his full bowling action before pulling out from releasing the ball and dislodged the non-striker end’s bails. His arm completed a full swing. That is where the officials got it wrong.
However, either way, the batsman shouldn’t have left the crease whatsoever, after all, there was no chance of completing even a couple of runs by running between the wickets in a small boundary of 45 meters at max and, yes, it is an unfair benefit to the batsman.
The umpiring and officiating standards in Nepal forever have been an open ground for debate in most tournaments. The murmurs of small but crucial incidents of ill-timed decisions for boundary and other incidents throughout the tournament hadn’t done any good for the reputation of the Super Sixes. The one which included the Sunbi Design and NIC Bank was another bad episode for integrity of the event. Sunbi Design had to withdraw from the tournament due to some technical reasons despite being unbeaten and clear favorites to win the corporate championship during group stages. In this particular incident, the unclear understanding of both, MCC or ICC, whichever the officials based their decisions on has been questioning.